Crockpots are supposed to be easy right?

After getting totally frustrated with crock pot cooking in the past I am up to try again.  One embarrassing meal that I had planned just perfectly (at least I thought I had!) to be ready right after soccer practice last spring was a total disaster which resulted in this senario at the dinner table. 

My husband was trying to eat some of the mush I served and the kids were just staring at it, whining and digging into the fruit salad I had served with it.  I took one bite and said, “This is awful.  It might have been the type of rice I used but I thought it was the right kind.”  To which my husband responded, “This has rice in it?”  Yes….laugh away but it was a disaster. 

Well, some time later I was catching up with an old friend from high school and learned that his wife has written several crock pot cooking books.  I was intrigued and visited her blog.  I actually learned from her in a video clip I watched that my crock pot was probably too big for some recipes.  It made sense because all the recipes that I used that made large amounts of food always turned out great (thankfully since we were having guests)…it was when I just tried to cook for the 4 of us that things went bad…terribly bad…like not fit for the dog bad.  Everything was dried out and overcooked (yes you would have thought I would have seen the connection myself!).

So I obviously need a smaller capacity slow cooker…my crock pot is huge.  I went and looked at Target last night…found this one…thought about it and when I had to return to Target today decided to grab it as it was on sale and I wasn’t sure how long it would be there.  I liked it that I won’t have as much to store as I would if I had 2-3 crockpots of different sizes. 

Hamilton Beach 3-in-1 Slow Cooker - White (33133H)

It is a three in one crock pot that you can use the same base but 3 different sized bowls.  More info here.

Anyway…I bought some of Janet Eyring’s cookbooks a while back and am getting excited to try some new stuff out.  

Edited to add:  Here is a link to several video clips of Janet. 

7 Responses to “Crockpots are supposed to be easy right?”

  1. Janet Eyring Says:

    Hey Holly,

    I have seen these around, but never used them. From what I have seen they don’t have the heating element that goes all the way around, or all the way up the sides. I guess time will tell to see if you are still having the same problems. I chuckled reading your horror stories, though, I have to admit.
    Thanks for the plug!

  2. hollybirdy Says:

    Thanks for the info Janet…I think I will unwrap and try out this crockpot set. Like you said, time will tell…and what is family for if not to experiment on! 🙂

  3. by the way, do you know of any other old friends with blogs?

  4. hollybirdy Says:

    Sean,
    Nope…no friends from high school.
    But hey…our 20 year reunion is just around the corner…we will have to inspire some of them! LOL
    Holly

  5. HEY!!!! I tried the “Salsa Chicken” (from janet’s site) today in my crock….SOOOOOO easy and very good. The kiddos ate it up! Woo-Hoo!

  6. hollybirdy Says:

    Hey Amy,
    I saw saw that on Janet’s site. I will have to try it. I have a black bean/chicken soup crockpot recipe that we really like. I got that recipe from an online friend…I will have to post it soon.
    Holly

  7. I will be waiting…I LOVE black bean anything!

Leave a Reply

