Crockpot recipe

This is one I have yet to butcher…so that is saying a lot for the recipe…it is fool proof ;).

I usually refer to it as Black bean/chicken soup but here is the official name and recipe.

Chicken Tortilla Soup

4 chicken breast halves  (I use 2-3 whole boneless skinless)

2 15 oz. Cans black beans, undrained

1 15 oz. Canstewed tomatoes, or 1 can Rotel tomatoes

1 cup salsa (mild, medium, hot…whatever you prefer)

4 oz. Can chopped green chilies  (hot, Hatch)

14 ½ oz. Can tomato sauce

Tortilla chips

2 cups grated cheese    

1.       Combine all ingredients except chips and cheese in large slow cooker.  

2. Cover and cook on low for 8 hours.

3.     Just before serving, remove chicken breasts and slice into bite size pieces.  Stir into soup.

4.     To serve, put a handful of chips in each individual serving bowl.  Ladle soup over chips and top with cheese.

5.     Serve with toppings of your choice.  We like sliced avocado and sour cream.  Other options are black olives, lettuce, fresh tomatoes…use your imagination

My boys aren’t much for beans…so I usually add an additional chicken breast to the recipe and then when I take the chicken out for chopping, I just cut that additional peice in strips for them.  YUM!

BTW:  I got this recipe from a group of online friends…so don’t know who to give the credit to.

5 Responses to “Crockpot recipe”

  1. Sounds yummy! I will have to check out the point values and try that! It’s got a lot of veggies, so that should be fine. 🙂 It’s just those pesky tortilla chips I wonder about–gosh how I miss tortilla chips, it’s been over a week! lol

    Ann

  2. OK…so I put this in the crock this morning…cannot wait to taste it! I had to improv some…how I do most of my recipes, because I ALWAYS forget to get something at the store!! 🙂

  3. hollybirdy Says:

    Ann,
    I hear ya. Gotta watch out for those darn tortilla chips and the cheese!
    This recipe is really good without either of those sinful thing however!
    Blessings,
    Holly

  4. hollybirdy Says:

    Amy,
    Let us know how it turns out! 🙂
    (and if the kiddos like it).
    Blessings,
    Holly

  5. YUMM-O!!!!! That was delicious and the kiddos ate it up! Thanks for a great meal! 😉

Leave a Reply

