Fun Friday, scriptures and our kids

Memorizing scriptures with our kids can be the greatest blessing.  My oldest has been working on memorizing scriptures for is Kindergarten class.  They have one scripture for each letter of the alphabet…he knows a good portion of them and we will be working on them this weekend so that kinda brought this to mind.

This past summer, my boys and I learned the 23rd Psalm.  The boys were ages 5 and 3….they did wonderfully.  I think the 3 year old learned it faster than I did!

 I have memorized so many things over the years…could quote facts from many a biology text…but had never committed something as common as the 23rd Psalm to memory.  So many beautiful and meaningful scriptures in the bible…that is a book that warrants memorization!   As summer approaches, I am looking for scriptures for the 3 of us to learn…I think it will be a fun summer tradition.  Last time we worked on it as a surprise for my hubby…I think it took us 3 days or so…it was easy, fun and a blessing.

The most wonderful thing is that once you have memorized the scripture, you always have God’s word with you.  The lights are out and my youngest wants to “pray” using the 23rd Psalm.  His sweet little voice and God’s powerful words…

The Lord is my Shepard, I shall not want…”

“…he restores my soul.”

“…I will fear no evil, for You are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me…”

“…surley goodness and love will follow me all the days of life, and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.”

I will leave you with this little girl saying the 23rd Psalm…you have probably seen it but in case you haven’t, you must.  She is a cutie.

One Response to “Fun Friday, scriptures and our kids”

  1. BeckyinMich Says:

    I’ve read about prisoners of war repeating memorized Bible verses to each other while they were imprisoned. There is such power in the words. How cool that you & your sons are learning them together!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

