Wonderful Wednesday, storing scrapbooking ideas

I browse my scrapbooking magazines over and over…some of the ideas I just can’t part with.  I have organize and have them handy for inspiration.  I used to put them in page protectors and put them in a notebook…but I never used that system.  Not handy enough for me.

So I came up with the system. 

I have this metal box from Oriental trading.  I use 4 X 6 index cards and use tabs to organize the ideas within. 

IMG_0222.jpg picture by hollybirdy

Tabs are:  Favorites right now, accents, 1 photo pages, baby, birthday, black and white, I have that!, instant pages, journaling, multi photo simple sketches, machine stitching, personality, photo ideas, projects, school, stamps, paper peicings, cards and then a file idea for each of my boys.

I should have taken a picture of one of my idea cards that has a LO on it.  Sometimes I just rip the layout of interest out of the magazine (however…I have issues with that…it seems wasteful to rip up a magazine and I try to give my magazines another life by passing them on to friends/family).  So since I have issues (lots of them..this is just a little one), I either draw the sketch/idea on the card or copy the layout, staple the idea to my card and file it. 

Here is an example of one that is in the “stamps” file.   

IMG_0227.jpg picture by hollybirdy

This card helps me remember that I have those border stamps. 

The stamp file is the way I remember what stamps I have…these are not all my stamps mind you but my border stamps and journaling stamps that are kinda general and can be used on many different layouts.  I just stapled an old extra photo on it for fun.

 

2 Responses to “Wonderful Wednesday, storing scrapbooking ideas”

  1. Great idea! I would love to set up a stamp file… I forget what I have more with stamps than with anything else!
    🙂
    xooxx
    L

  2. Thank you! Your scrapbook idea will be advertised as a favorite on the Scrapbook Faves website today – http://www.scrapbookfaves.com

Leave a Reply

