School starts!

Well, my oldest stated first grade this morning! 

Yesterday we got hair cuts for the boys then went to the library where we looked through a bunch of “back to school” books that the librarian had pulled out for everyone to see.  There were lots of going to Kindergarten books but none specifically for the first grade.  I urged my oldest to choose one and so he reluctantly grabbed a couple…reluctant because none were “chapter books”…which is what he prides himself of always reading now days! )

So one of them that he grabbed was this book:

Panda Goes to School

When it was time to read before bed last night he quickly settled on this book.  Snuggling up in his bed, he started reading it to me.  It was perfect as it talks about being at school ALL the way til 3pm…which is new for us.  He was delighted that the book was indeed perfect for kid going to first grade…since that is when they are first at school for a full day.  The story talks about a reluctant panda bear that misses his mommy and worries that his mommy will not be okay without him all day long…and how 8 o’clock to 3 o’clock IS a very long time.  Well, my well adjusted first grader just thought that idea was totally ridiculous and was like…”silly panda”…

And I was thinking…you know panda has a point!  LOL 

Just yesterday I was totally ready for both the boys to start school and have a schedule (at a very frustrating point in the day!)…and today well…it could have waited a couple weeks (and the truth be told I still wouldn’t be ready!).  So…the children’s book that I urged him to choose benefited me more than him! 

Oh, well…whatever it takes to get though this life, right? )

We  have a week before my youngest, who is 4, starts preschool for 3-4 mornings a week.  So…he and I have spent some one on one time today.  We read this for some quiet moments earlier:

Little Boys Bible Storybook for Mothers and Sons (Little Boys)

We have chatted some and he played all by himself for quite awhile too….all good things for me and my 4 year old. 

Looking at the clock and realizing that I don’t have to rush out to pick up my oldest from a half day of school is actually a relief.  My husband gave me a hard time that I needed to turn off my automatic watch timer goes off at 11:45 (last year’s reminder to hustle over and pick up my kindergartner)…because otherwise I might crack when it goes off.  I am actually okay (no cracking allowed ha, ha). 

I am reminded that…

Ecclesiastes 3:1-10
1 There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven: 2 a time to be born and a time to die, a time to plant and a time to uproot, 3 a time to kill and a time to heal, a time to tear down and a time to build, 4 a time to weep and a time to laugh, a time to mourn and a time to dance, 5 a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them, a time to embrace and a time to refrain, 6 a time to search and a time to give up, a time to keep and a time to throw away, 7 a time to tear and a time to mend, a time to be silent and a time to speak, 8 a time to love and a time to hate, a time for war and a time for peace. 9 What does the worker gain from his toil? 10 I have seen the burden God has laid on men.

11 He has made everything beautiful in its time... 

Amen!  God’s word always says it just right!

One Response to “School starts!”

  1. Okay, your blog about the first day of school was much more interesting than mine. So is Amy’s. Hmmph. I really need to work on it, I guess.

Leave a Reply

