Old fashioned sayings…

Have you ever thought about the things people used to say?  Today I was filling up my gas tank and the poor elderly gentleman on the other side of my pump was having trouble getting gas in his rental car.  Apparently he normally drives a truck and the little rental car had a button you had to push to in order to get the gas door to open and he had never heard of such a thing.  He was so embarrassed…and when he and another person figured out his problem, he said,

Oh, good gravy!

When I got back in the car, I told my youngest what the man had said and he got quite a chuckle out of it.  He said, “Gravy?  Gravy like you put on mashed potatoes?” 

:0)

What is your favorite old fashioned saying?

3 Responses to “Old fashioned sayings…”

  1. interesting. I hear my boss say ‘good grief’ a lot. but it’s not that interesting, it just always strikes me funny when I hear it. I guess it’s better than cussing!

  2. It’s been a while since I commented, but this one seemed “worthy” LOL

    I’ve always been a fan of “For Pete’s Sake” (and always wondered who Pete was!)

    When ever my Grandpa got mad at us and we got a telling off, he would end it with, “Savvy?” Wanting to make sure we heard him load and clear.

    “For crying out loud!” is another one our family used alot.

    2 weeks until Christmas, you ready?
    -Sean

  3. I catch myself saying, “heavenly days!” Not really sure why. Especially since most of the time, the situation isn’t so heavenly.

    I have never figured out what people mean when they say, “Oh goodnight!” Huh?! It’s not the most common saying, but it’s always someone who is quite a bit older than me.

Leave a Reply

