Giving thanks

I was looking through an old prayer/quiet time journal the other day.  I getting close to needing a new journal…my current one is almost full so I was enjoying looking through some of my old ones.   I love getting to decide on a new journal or seeing what comes my way in a timely manner.  I usually have spiral journals so that they are easy to write in…and am actually thinking of making my own this time around with my Bind it all.  

Anyway…my point is somewhere here…I must focus!  

I was looking through my old prayer journal…it was from 2007.  My boys were 5 and 3.  

I found that I used to write family praise reports…when I had stopped writing them I am not sure.  

I was delighted when I read the one for May 10, 2007.  

Our 3 year old is giving God credit for everything!  

“Mom!  God dried my hands for me!”

“Mom!  God is already healing it!”  (He was referring to a scratch on his hand).

1 Thessalonians 5:  16-18

Be joyful always; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

Praise him for everything:

  • sweet boys
  • grumpy boys
  • precious husband
  • my temper
  • my sweet life!
  • my bumpy life
  • people who make me stretch
  • people who  bless my life

I loved it when I came across this…such a blessing…such a lesson.

When did I stop writing our family praise reports in my journal?  

“Give thanks to the LORD, call on his name; make known among that nations what he has done.”  

1 Chronicles 16:8

 


2 Responses to “Giving thanks”

  1. BeckyinMich Says:

    Thanks for sharing this Holly! “Giving thanks in all circumstances” is something I needed to be reminded of as DH & I are going through this bumpy (health-wise) patch.

    I am so worried about him all the time and the stress of it is really affecting my own health . That’s not doing either one of us any good. I need to write this on a little card & put it somewhere that I’ll see it every day.

    Thanks for the reminder! I can’t help but think that maybe God put it in your heart to write it & for me to find it tonight.
    Becky

  2. hollybirdy Says:

    Hugs Becky!
    Take good care of yourself and that hubby of yours. Try to let go of the worry…hard I know…God has it all under control.

Leave a Reply

